Dishonesty

Quote

I’ve got no hand in matters worldly,
I hardly care at all.
What’s going on fails to concern me
‘Cause I’m locked behind my wall.
But you know what drives me out,
Out of my mind?

It’s whatever makes you see,
Makes you believe,
And forget about the premonition you need to conceive.
The images they sell are Illusion and Dream –
In other words, dishonesty.

If I speak ill, please, humour me;
Won’t rant on endlessly.
Just thought I’d try to make you see,

It doesn’t solve a thing to dress it in a pretty gown;
A stone will not need you to guess if you’re still going to drown.
So you know what drives me out,
Out of my mind?

It’s whatever makes you see, makes you believe,
And forget about the premonition you need to conceive.
The images they sell are Illusion & Dream –
In other words, dishonesty.

From Poets of the Fall’s ‘Illusion and Dream’.

Leave a Reply

